Loss.

…and I realized

the last time

we were on a Via train

I left with you

and came back empty.

There was Rue St. Catherine

steak and frites

and streams

of red

in the cavernous

basement mall bathroom.

The doctor was kind

things were too bright

too blurry

The train ride back was me spending time

emailing everyone

that you were gone.

I think this train ride

will be fine. But

oddly enough

the students I teach now

are the same age

you would have been.

2 responses to “Loss.”

  1. So well written. Those return moments can be hard. Breath and allow your emotions to surface. It helps release and move forward. I know this loss. Sending a hug. I hope you can enjoy your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a powerful poem. The enjambments do a lot of heavy lifting here – especially these lines “and streams/ of red/ in the cavernous/ basement mall bathroom.” Until the basement line, this could be a love affair gone wrong over a dinner. On a re-read, I notice the word “empty” and it hits me in a whole new way. Oof. I am sorry for your loss and grateful that you can share it, especially because we so rarely talk about miscarriage. I know it was a long time ago, but hugs anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment