Putting my Mom Together from Memory






3 responses to “Putting my Mom Together from Memory”

  1. The organization and formatting of this post stood out to me, and then, as I read, it made sense that these are fragments of memory which might be fuzzy around the edges because some are witnessed events and others are narratives from your mother. And you question yourself with repeated use of “I think I remember”, and then “I remember” contains the question – “a dream”. This is both beautiful and sad, a challenging mood to create which you’ve done successfully.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so beautiful. The memories you relay consist of such detail but I also feels like you don’t quite remember everything. The details of the avocado appliances, the ashtray and Corningware caused me to think back to my own childhood.

    When I read, ” I remember her telling me it was getting hard. I didn’t understand. No one understood. Things were always like this for her.” it caused me to feel sad for her. This really is an excellent piece of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gorgeous and sad. Like Melanie, I notice the repetition which emphasizes the uncertainty of memory and makes the portrait of your mother hard to hold on to. There is something very compassionate in this telling, the way the stories add up to something, the way what you remember for sure starts with things “getting hard.” This is really beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment