4 O’Clock Coffee and Timbits

Had parent meeting.

They were so kind and brought me coffee and Timbits.

My classroom was a disaster of popsicle sticks and hot glue reminents.

This parent is worried about their child’s anxiety.

I am not really sure how to help, but will try.

Not sure if anything I try is going to work.

I put up chairs, swept under the back work area.

I might as well plan tomorrow while I am here late.

Grade 8s talking hockey after school; joined in and talked about back check.

The snow is swirling and creating ice drips on trees.

Happy first day of spring.

My car is the last one in the parking lot.

Which isn’t a sign of anything, you know, work life balance and all.

Just another day; not sure if it registered on anyone’s radar.

3 responses to “4 O’Clock Coffee and Timbits”

  1. I liked the way you poetically unfolded your day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your last line is really powerful. It takes my thinking in a different direction than it was heading from the rest of the day. I also thought your variation in font size was so interesting. This slice so beautifully captured the reality of a teacher’s life–the combination of good and hard and all the in-between.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I, too, was struck by the last line. “Not sure it registered on anyone else’s radar.” I read that line as ambiguous – is it that you were there late? That you did these things? That this is normal? That work-life balance is elusive? There is something very evocative in your short phrases here. Fatigue, matter-of-factness. It’s powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment