Writing Roadmap & Encouraging bad writing

In my grade 7 classroom, we have been tackling some rather boring expectations aligned in our curriculum (see top of image). To make it less daunting, and more, I don’t know, manageable? I have made this roadmap.

Students began what they deemed interesting sentences from texts, and check-point one was determining the structures of sentences, and when and where to use them.

Now we’re into checkpoint 2, and tomorrow, we are going to play with getting creative.

3 responses to “Writing Roadmap & Encouraging bad writing”

  1. What a great way to encourage students to be playful with language! They are lucky to have you for a teacher. I love seeing the roadmap graphic/assignment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like it, too — I think it helps people stay on task. Honestly, I feel I have been struggling to keep on top of giving feedback; but another day!

      Like

  2. I am intrigued. I love the idea of noticing strong effective sentences in their text and then uncovering why they are so effective. We do something similar in ELD, sentence imitation. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment