You can Google Scholar me…

…I mean, if you have the time to read my 150+ page Masters thesis. I’m pretty damn proud of it, and yes: This is a total bragging moment. It was years in the making teaching full time and being a parent. So yeah – I can walk around at parties (oh, all of the many, many parties I attend) and say that as an awkward introduction.

“Hi. I am Heidi Allum. You can Google Scholar me.” Take a sip from my warm beer and move on.

I won’t go into boring detail about what my thesis is about: Blogging, trauma-informed education, and teacher practice (but, I mean, if this is up your alley, so happy to talk about it..), but I will post one of my favourite paragraphs, and insert one of my images.

“Trauma-informed care should be implemented with purpose, flexibility, and a shared understanding between educators, the community, and students (Crosby, 2015). It is in the realm of the possibility for educators to create and sustain a trauma-informed care classroom and a trauma-informed school system. For trauma-informed practices to reach their full potential, they must be foundational, structural, and considered before and with academic planning. Just as a teacher would change the trajectory with an academic concept based on student assessment, a teacher needs to modify and change their trauma-informed practice based on student data. We must understand how well-being and daily stressors can impact the daily interactions in the classroom. Though a teacher can implement and be reflective and responsive to their TIPs, understanding environmental factors and the world’s reactions may affect students and change how they react to TIPs.”





6 responses to “You can Google Scholar me…”

  1. I love this! I love that you are on Google Scholar; I love that paragraph; and I really love your image! Now, while you sip that beer, I need to go see if I can find that thesis…

    CONGRATULATIONS, by the way. You rock.

    Like

  2. I love the alternating moods here of humility and the ability to laugh at yourself, and also pride! In a job well done- congrats. I hope you get some readers here who will contact you for more information on an important subject.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations, Heidi. This is an accomplishment. I don’t think I could’ve pulled off a thesis of that length being a full-time teacher and mother. Fortunately my program allowed comprehensive exams at the time I earned my MA. I say switch that warm beer for some champagne. You deserve it. (I’m interested in blogging as part of classroom practice —and I found your thesis!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And happy to talk about blogging in the classroom…and I promise I won’t sound like my thesis.

      Like

  4. Congratulations! I know a lot of hard work went into it and you should brag!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I kind of wanted to go between bragging, and also — let’s be honest: No one really cares.

      Like

Leave a comment