Sunrise

I grew up in poverty. In abuse. In neglect.

I am not writing this for anything but to state a fact. Sometimes this means that I am socially awkward and inept in rather every day middle class situations. I have a house with two floors and a backyard. Every day, quietly to myself, my jaw drops just a little that I can call the space mine. Yet, I still feel slightly askew in my own home. That there is another me who lives here; and another me who resents it. I don’t deserve it.

“Mommy!” She called from her room. I was cleaning toothpaste spit and chasing the other kid who was half naked making animal calls. We needed to leave in 10 for work and school and it was hard to change my resentment to a calm “Yes?” in response to my daughter. When she didn’t respond I stomped to her room.

“Look.” was all she said.

I stopped. The sun warming the air around her. The tiny hairs that she refused to brush matching the fading and bleeding colours of the sunrise. Changing the sky into melting wax crayons of warm tones.

The knots and anger melted away in the briefest clasp of time that froze me. It only lasted that moment, enough to grab a photo and remind myself that I exist, too.

3 responses to “Sunrise”

  1. Oh, Heidi, how beautiful is this? Thank you for sharing this precious slice of your life. I can see the moment before as you chase the little one and the mussy hair here. Then, the sudden freeze with the “Look” to remind yourself that you exist too. Wow. Well-written, and thank you for sharing with us today this peek into your worthy and conquering life. This sentence is amazing: “Changing the sky into melting wax crayons of warm tones.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maureen Young Ingram Avatar
    Maureen Young Ingram

    Such a fabulous reflection! You grabbed onto this special moment, recognized the enormous beauty that is yours – yes, you do exist!! This line was breathtaking, for me – “Every day, quietly to myself, my jaw drops just a little that I can call the space mine.” You are very strong.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautifully written! We all need to stop and seize the moment or moments when we can!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment