Stoplight

I pulled up behind your car at a stoplight. You were in a white Mercedes, dingy from the winter salt and dirt of sloshed and melting snow.

You had leather interior. You had better things to do, and more important places to be.

Beastie Boys were blaring in my car. The fabric in my car was typical of what every car has that’s not leather. Nothing special. I had a booster seat. Used kleenexes. Remnants of Goldfish crackers.

Whatcha whatcha whatcha want, whatcha want!

This was a long red light. For the love of everything holy.

It had been a long day. A lot of traffic on the highway. I have stopped counting the amount of LED red I have seen.

I let out an overly dramatic sigh — as if anyone could see or hear my frustrations. Either way, it didn’t matter. I am sure everyone was feeling this way, as more cars braked and lined up behind me, waiting for the green.

Your window rolled down. Tinted of course. Out flicked the cigarette butt you had just finished. Your wrists flung it as easily as the butt hit the ground, smoke still rising.

I looked at it, right on the yellow line dividing the cars standing, and the cars going.

I slowly pushed the four ways lights. I gently compressed the parking brake. I lifted my chin as I opened my car door, and walked forward, left foot then right, to the cigarette butt. I wasn’t worried about the light changing. It would be red for a long time still.

I pulled the black dollar store stretchy gloves over my fingers, wiggling them to ensure a good fit and comfort. I didn’t look for your reaction. I just picked up the cigarette butt and tapped three times, firmly and with purpose, on your driver’s side window.

Now you looked at me oddly. Eyebrows somewhere between what the *%#$ and you must be insane. I waited for you to roll the window down. I am holding the cigarette butt out in front of both of us. Like a sceptre of truth. A long lost tome.

Your window comes down a fraction.

I nod, throw the butt into your open window (thank goodness for good aim), and turn on my heel back to my car.

I didn’t look for your reaction in the car. I exhaled as I turned off the four ways, put the car back into drive, and pressed the gas pedal as the light

finally

turned

green.

9 responses to “Stoplight”

  1. OMG– That sounds like a scene from a movie that I’d love! I wish your teaser was different! This would be the perfect way to handle a loser who needs to share his butts with the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is too funny you bring up the teaser — I wasn’t sure if I should say I imagined this playing out as I sat there in the light, and then when it went green, I wish I had?! Or just …leave it?

      Like

  2. WHAT A STORY! Addressing the whole thing to the person in the car is *brilliant* – as, my friend, are you for doing this, even in your imagination. The whole thing is vivid & you have just the right tone – exasperated, firm, gentle but unrelenting. And “a scepter of truth.” I love it all.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. An exemplary example of good writing. I couldn’t stop reading and the way you related the tale, the emotions you felt flew off the page. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I appreciate you reading, and giving some feedback.

      Like

  4. As many have already commented, this story is brilliant because you take what lives in our thoughts, the many small injustices, insensitities to the world and flick them back in his sanctimonious space. I’m not sure if you actually did this, but if you did, then this is the stuff of dragon slayers (see this blog: https://mschiubookawrites.wordpress.com/2023/03/11/saturday-slays/comment-page-1/#comment-1694) The ending is
    exactly
    as
    I
    saw
    you
    driving
    away!
    Brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did not actually do it, but I sure wish I had. I played this moment out after the fact driving the rest of the way home. And fantastic blog link! I missed it today while commenting, will head there now 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I quite enjoyed reading g this. Good pacing. Fantastic details. My initial thought was, “I wish you’d gone this, too.” However, I’m glad you didn’t do it because some whacko might have pulled a gun on you. Can you tell I live in a crazy open-carry state?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did think it through, detail by detail, after the fact. It burns me (pun intended) when people throw their cigarette butts out the window. Yes, and good point. I live in Canada, so honestly, that wasn’t the first thing on my mind. It was more the driver would follow me and or/report me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment